All over the place

Lately I feel like everything is in hyperdrive.  Work deadlines seem to be sneaking up on me, the countdown to my cousins wedding DEF skipped a week or two because its this Saturday (insert happy dance) and my ‘planning’ has taken on a life of its own.  I feel like my mind is running in a hundred different directions at any given time and I feel like I’m just not getting the job done

I just need to compartmentalize a little better….work at work (instead of blogging….which I’m doing now…but after this, lol) and when I’m at home I should work on crafts/planning stuff.  Hopefully that gets me back on track.

Can we just get to what I really want to talk about?!  Mimi was so right….once I started the nursery I created a monster.  The furniture was delivered on Saturday (at 9:45…PM.  Needless to say I was VERY displeased) and I set it up on Sunday.  I learned a couple of lessons that I’d like to share:

  1. Crib assembly is a 2 person job
  2. Trying to carry a box that once held a completely assembled dresser down a flight of stairs is dangerous.  My elbow wishes I knew that beforehand.
  3. Styrofoam is like glitter…once those little beads break free, there’s no containing them.  It looks like it snowed in the nursery and I was too tired to vacuum again.

After I got the furniture out of the boxes and the crib assembled, I put up the few things I bought already.  Its a little sparse in there, lol.  I have a few things I want to add and some things I need to finish but it’s def off to a good start.  I need a lamp, bookcases, some wall art, and some picture frames.  I’m also doing a custom growth chart and a desk and 2 chairs (and a potentially a bench to go on one side) so I’m excited to start those projects.  I also want a rocker of some sort so we can read together.  I LOVE reading…one of my bedrooms is a library and books will probably be the next round of purchases.  I’ve already been looking around and I have a list of classics that I definitely must have (Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day anyone?!).  SIDEBAR: They’re making this book into a movie.  Can someone please inform the mysterious ‘them’ that everything doesn’t need to be in film format? KThxBye

I’m feeling more and more ready EVERYDAY.  I actually pulled out ye olde application and realized that I’m going to have to get another.  I had my sister listed as a resident but since she has decided to teach the masses elsewhere it has to come off.  I also went out this weekend and got a first aid kit (another item that I needed regardless of whether I adopted but whatevs) and 2 sets of kiddie toothbrushes and kids toothpaste.  I’m all about excellent dental care and I almost cried when I got my first cavity at 29.  I also bought a couple of PJ sets which I’ve read is a good thing to have on hand.  Next up on the home study to do list is the gate for the stairs and the evacuation plan.  I’m also pulling together as much of the documentation (proof of insurance, pet vaccine records, proof of employment) as I can.  I officially bought a binder to keep copies of everything in.  I also still have to work on my autobiographical statement.

Everything about the adoption process is feeling more imminent and I’m so excited!!

** Me all through the blogsphere **

** For realsies…I’m going to recap the last Add Water and Stir…before the next one, lol.

1 Comment

Leave a comment