Quick Little update…

I took 2 vacation days last week (Thursday and Friday) so I could handle a few things. On Thursday, I went to visit my 4 childcare choices.  I LOVED the first place I visited.  The kids were very engaged and there was proof of their various activities everywhere.  The facility was clean and the employees seemed to know what they were doing and were actively engaging with the children in their care.  The second place was a bit more meh.  The teachers seemed nice enough but when we visited the classes they seemed to just be sitting at the tables.  I didn’t see a whole lot of activity or engagement or even stuff on the wall to show that they do various activities.  The second place does have a second shift option meaning they’re open until Midnight.  Overall, the place was fine….but I just wouldn’t feel comfortable leaving my kids there.  The third place turned out to be an in-home facility.  While I’m not opposed to in-home daycare, I would only do that based on personal recommendations from friends/family.  I didn’t even stop at that one.  The last one seems really nice too.  It’s a 5-star facility (which is the best there is) and I liked their security features right away.  They do tours on a by-appointment basis so I didn’t get to look around that one but I’ll probably schedule something for this week.

After these visits, I’m headed back home to pick up my fur-baby Toby and head to Homecoming.  As I’m driving I say what the hay and swing by the Department of Health and Human Services (which just so happens to be about 5 minutes from my house).

I OFFICIALLY SUBMITTED MY APPLICATION TO BECOME A FOSTER PARENT!!!

Since I had already attended the foster care meeting back in June I didn’t have to go again.  I was given an application, I filled it out and turned it in.  When I tell you it was a huge relief?!  I finally feel like I’m starting and after months and months and months of planning which is great.  I told my family and they were really excited too.  My mom has decided that she wants a boy since there’s not enough testosterone in our house.  My dad said ‘about time‘ in a way only your dad can.  I told my sister on the phone since she harassed me to death and she squealed (as expected) and immediately jumped back to her Baby-by-Christmas timeline.  I had to not-so-gently remind her that it’s just the application…I still have to take the classes and do the homestudy so Christmas isn’t going to happen.

While I was home for Homecoming, I swung by my cousins’ place.  They have a 5-year-old son so I asked if they had any leftover stuff for 0-3 year olds that they wanted to get rid of.  I get over there and they pull out a trunk…like a trunk you have your freshman year of college with your whole life in it.  She also drags out the biggest trash bag I’ve ever seen.  Basically she still had almost everything they’d ever bought (or been given) and now I am the proud owner of an assortment of boy clothes as well as the noisiest toy they could find (as payback because I always buy noisy toys, lol), a brand new safety kit, burp clothes, and the cutest ducky robe I’ve ever seen.  We didn’t even get to the 2T-4T bag….I didn’t have anymore room to carry more stuff back.

I also got a chance to go through the books and stuff my dad brought back from SC.  All of my childhood books were still in good condition (the Raggedy Ann & Andy set are still MIA).  He even brought some stuff I had forgotten about like the Talking Big Bird with a cassette player in the back.  I also picked up my old Teddy Ruxpin.  It still plays but the sound is really warbled and his eyes and mouth don’t move anymore.  After Big Bird gets a bath, I’ll test the tapes in that player and hope it works.  I have another cassette player in my office but I’d rather be able to just grab one out of the nursery #FirstWorldProblems.  Plus, if I’m not mistaken, Big Bird’s mouth moves when you play a tape so that’s kinda cool.

While I was out and about, I also found these large wooden letters (A and Z) that I’m using as bookends and a bin with elephant fabric to store toys in.  I wish I had gotten 2 of the bins because its already full with just the stuff I had growing up.

Basically this weekend was awesome on the family planning front.  My parents and sister are coming to see me this upcoming weekend so my dad can finish the last few things I’ll need for the homestudy and to bring the stuff I couldn’t fit in my car this weekend.  I also FINALLY got the bestie’s blogpost.  I’ll share that later this week.

Leave a comment